Sarkodie tops 2012 Vodafone GMAs with 12 nominations

Sarkodie Sarkodie, led the pack of nominees for the 2012 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards announced Wednesday afternoon, at the studios of GH One Entertainment Television.  The rapper bagged a total of 12 nominations including 3 in the Best Collaboration of the Year category for ‘Sweetio’ with Raquel, ‘U Go Kill Me’ featuring EL and ‘I’m in Love With You’ featuring Efya; songwriter of the year, Artist of the Year, Most Popular Song of the Year and Album of the year.

2011 was largely a good year for the rapper but he will face some stiff competition from Okyeame Kwame with 9 nominations, 7 for 4×4, 6 for Stay J and 5 for Dr Cryme. Other artists with multiple nominations include Kwaw Kesse, Trigmatic, Efya, Raquel, Becca and others.

One of the big surprises was the VGMA Boards and Academy’s snubbing of Stay J for the Artiste of the Year gong.  Bellow is the full list of nominations:

1. Artiste(s) of the Year

Okyeame Kwame





Kwaw Kesse

2. Best New Artiste(s) of The Year


Stay Jay




3. African Artiste(s) of the Year
Naeto C

Duncan Mighty

Ice Prince


Cabo Snoop



4. Hiplife Song of the Year

Stay Jay – Shashee Wowo

Keche – Sorkode

4X4 – Yesi Yesii

Sarkodie – U Go Kill Me

Okyeame Kwame – Faithful

Buk Bak – Kolom

D Cryme – Kill Me Shy

5. Highlife Song of the Year

George Darko – Lucky Star

Lucky Mensah – Nkratuor

Kwabena Maphia – I Go pay

Daddy Lumba – Ko Hye Po

Kwabena Kwabena – Be Gye Me

K. K Fosu – Akoma

6. Most Popular Song of the year

4 x 4 – Yesi Yesii

Stay Jay – Shashee Wowo

Selina Boateng – Me Nku Me Ho

D Cryme – Kill Me Shy

Sarkodie – U Go Kill Me

Zigi – You Say Wetin

Atumpan – The Thing

Okyeame Kwame – Faithful

7. Afro-Pop Song of the Year
Ruff-N-Smooth Beautiful

Becca –  African Woman

Fuse ODG –  Azonto

Zigi – U Say Wey Tin

Atumpan – The Thing

Raquel – Sweetieo

Chase – Tell Me Your Name ft Paedae

8. Hip hop Song Of The Year
Bra Kevin – Three Headed Beast

D-Black – My Kind Of Girl

Sarkodie – I’m In Love With You

Edem – Too Much

Guru – Mmaa Kuo

Kwaw Kese – Poppin

9. Gospel Song Of The Year 
Lady Prempeh – Nsantaban

Gifty Osei – Fefeefe

Philipa Baafi – Dea Eba Wosem Afe Yi

Selina Boateng – Me Nku Me Ho

Jake Alolome – Tomorrow By This Time

DSP Kofi Sarpong – African Borborbo

Bernice Ansah – Final say

10. Reggae Song Of The Year
Blakk Rasta – Miss Right

SonniBalli – All They See

Edem – Ghetto Arise

Kesse – Oh Yes

Stonebwoy/Samini – Climax

Jupiter/Trigmatic – Uptown Downtown

11. Best Male Vocal Artiste
Kesse – Oh Yes

Fritz – Me Dowu

K. K. Fosu – Akoma

Kwasey Pee – Shwe Ahenie

Chemphe – Number One

Kwame Adinkra – Abena Dansoaa

12. Group Of The Year

Buk Bak




13. Best Music Video of The Year
Becca – African Woman – Davis Media Group

4×4 – Yesi Yesii – Phamous People

D Black – My Kinda Girl – Jonathan Olamide & Desmond Blackmore

M3NSA – No One Knows Sam A Kessie

Bra Kevin – 3 Headed Beast Nana Asihene

Sheriffa Gunu – Mrantie Phamous Films Production

Okyeame Kwame – Faithful – Ohene Media

14. Best Female Vocal Artiste
Efya – I’m In Love With You

Raquel – Odo

Bertha – Faithful

Becca – African Woman

Irene Logan – Light and Darkness

Diana Antwi Hamilton – Eye Wo Ara

15. Gospel Album Of The Year
Philipa Baafi – Dea Eba Wosem Afe Yi

Selina Boateng – Me Nku Me Ho

Bernice Ansah – Gbenze Gbenze

Lady Prempeh – Ne Ntaban

Diana Antwi Hamilton – Blessings

Gifty Osei – Fefeefe

16. Best Rapper Of The Year
Manifest – Ghana Must Go

Sarkodie – U Go Kill Me

Okyeame Kwame – Faithful

Edem – Legacy

Trigmatic – Light and Darkness

EL – Obuu Mo

17. Record of the Year
Okyeame Kwame/Bertha – Faithful

Jayso/Adina – Music

M3NSA – Fante Love Song

Trigmatic/Irene – Light and Darkness

Sarkodie/Efya – I’m In Love With You

Kwame Adinkra/Kwabena Kwabena – Akua Dansoa

Yaa Pono/Efya – Good Morning

18. Song Writer Of The Year
Okyeame Kwame – Faithful written by Kwame Nsiah Apau

D Cryme – Kill Me Shy written by Darlington Agyekum

M3nsa – Fante Love Song writtern by Mensah Ansah

Manifest/Efya – Asa written by Kwame Tsikata /Jane Awindor/ J.Karp

Sarkodie/ Efya – I’m In Love With You written by Micheal Owusu Addo / Jane Awindor

Becca African – Woman written by Kiki Banson

Trigmatic/Irene – Light And Darkness written by Nana Yaw Oduro, Irene Logan

19. Best Collaboration of the Year

Trigmatic/Raquel – Aageii

Fuse ODG / Tiffany – Azonto

Raquel/Sarkodie -Sweetieo

Eduwordzi/Stay Jay – Yenko Nkoa

Okyeame Kwame/Bertha – Faithful

Sarkodie/Efya – I’m In Love With You

Sarkodie/EL – You Go Kill Me

20. Album of the Year                                  

Sarkodie – Rapperholic

Kwaw Kese – Untold Stories

4×4 – Waist and Power

Stay Jay – Repetition

Trigmatic – Solutions

Selina Boateng – Menko Meho

21. Highlife Artiste(s) of the Year     

Daddy Lumba

K. K Fosu

Kwabena Kwabena

Kwasie Pee

George Darko

Lucky Mensah

22. Gospel Artiste(s) of the Year     

DSP Kofi Sarpong

Gifty Osei

Philipa Baafi

Lady Prempeh

Bernice Ansah

Selina Boateng

23. HiplifeHiphop Artiste(s) of the Year   

Stay Jay

Okyeame Kwame




Kwaw Kese


Source: AmeyawDebrah.Com



About ghanamotion

Founder and CEO at Ghanamotion Limited.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.